ARI Abstracts
ARI Abstracts hosting, Science for all
 ISSN 2522-235X

eCM Online Periodical Abstracts 2018, Collection 5

26th Annual Meeting of the European Orthopaedic Research Society, Galway, Ireland, 25-28 September 2018


The EORS 2018 meeting was held at Galway, Ireland. The world-class education, research and innovation experience that the National University of Ireland Galway offers have played a catalytic role in establishing Galway as a biomedical hub word-wide. Arty and bohemian, Galway is renowned for its welcoming and friendly inhabitants, literary tradition, spectacular countryside scenery, arched-bridges over the salmon-stuffed Corrib river, vibrantly painted houses, medieval town walls, tangled lanes packed with street performers, pubs that heave with live music, warm handmade Aran sweaters, traditional handcrafted Claddagh rings, world-famous Galway Bay oysters and numerous festivals throughout the year. It is not a coincidence that recently Galway was bestowed with the honour of European Capital of Culture 2020.

The programme of EORS 2018 included 2 plenary sessions, 6 poster sessions, 65 podium presentation sessions and 5 workshops. Over 130 renowned engineers, scientists, clinicians and entrepreneurs delivered inspiring invited talks. Plenary, poster and podium presentation sessions covered all aspects of orthopaedic, musculoskeletal and trauma research, development and clinical translation, including tools, technologies and discoveries that will revolutionise healthcare with their therapeutic / reparative capacity. Industry and clinical sessions critically discussed challenges and opportunities in commercialisation and clinical translation. The workshop in Female Leadership, Commercialisation, Mesenchymal Stem Cells, Publishing and Outreach provided a holistic training experience to early career investigators. The Welcome Reception, the Meet the Mentor at the Pub and the Get Together provided the perfect atmosphere to catch up with old friends and make new ones. In total, 515 delegates from 32 countries attended the meeting.

The EORS 2018 Committee consisted of:

Dimitrios I Zeugolis (Chair)
Diana Gaspar
Stefanie Korntner
Hector Capella
Joao Coentro
Shubhasmin Rana
Salome Guillaumin
Sofia Ribeiro
Alessandro Dei
Valeria Graceffa
Ignacio Sallent
Andrea De Pieri
Kyriakos Spanoudes
Adrian Djalali-Cuevas
Rita Peixoto
Dimitris Tsiapalis
Meletis Doulgkeroglou
Eugenia Pugliese
Zhuning Wu
Sergio Garnica-Galvez
Andrea Rampin


View the abstracts