ARI Abstracts
ARI Abstracts hosting, Science for all
 ARI Abstracts ISSN 2960-2483 (Continues: eCM conferences open access online periodical, ISSN 2522-235X- until July 2023)

16th Annual Meeting of the Scandinavian Society for Biomaterials (ScSB)
21-24 March 2023, RÝros, Norway

It was our pleasure to welcome 115 participants from 14 different countries across the world to join us at the 16th annual ScSB meeting held in the small town of Røros in middle of the snowy hills of Norway on 21–24 March 2023. In addition to the excellent keynote talks by our invited speakers and 2023 ScSB award winner Pekka Vallittu, 75 contributed abstracts were presented in 11 oral presentations, 10 rapid-fire presentation and 64 interesting scientific posters.
One of our main aims to was to create a welcoming and laid-back environment for students and young investigators to interact with more experienced scientists and combine experience with enthusiasm. The scientific programme for ScSB2023 was loosely based on bioinspiration in biomaterials and focused on exploring the various ways in which we biomaterial scientists mimic nature to understand fundamental cell-material interactions and develop biomaterial-based therapies. We hope that everyone who attended ScSB2023 were inspired by the science presented at the meeting and had some time to try out traditional Norwegian winter activities, connect with new people and potential future collaborators, and most of all, enjoy their time in beautiful Røros!

ScSB2023 keynote speakers

  • Jason A. Burdick, University of Colorado Boulder, USA
  • Christine Selhuber-Unkel, Heidelberg University, Germany
  • Peter Loskill, University of Tübingen, Germany
  • Jose Oberholzer, University of Virginia, USA
  • Brigitte Städler, iNANO, Aarhus University, Denmark
  • Reidar Lund, University of Oslo, Norway

Organising ScSB2023 was a joint effort of the Norwegian University of Science and Technology and University of Oslo, and was made possible with the generous support from the Research Council of Norway, Stiftelsen Biopolymer, Optics11life and HOUM.

Organising committee

  • Berit L. Strand and Pawel Sikorski, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Hanna Tiainen and Håvard J Haugen, University of Oslo


Presentation and Poster Abstracts